1 800 222 6872

Haydn Portrait - Trumpet Concerto; Piano Trio Hob.XV:27; "Surprise" Symphony et al. / Adam Fischer; Austro-Hungarian Haydn Orchestra [Blu-ray audio]

Album Summary

>Haydn, Franz Joseph : Concerto for Trumpet in E flat major, H 7e no 1
>Haydn, Franz Joseph : Symphony no 94 in G major, H 1 no 94 "Surprise"
Conductor Ensemble Composer

Notes & Reviews:

In 1987, this orchestra was founded by Adam Fischer in the Haydnsaal (Haydn Hall) of the Esterhazy Palace in Eisenstadt, Austria (near Vienna), the place where this seminal genius of the Classical era lived and worked. As evidenced by its name, the ensemble is primarily dedicated to the performance of the works of Franz Josef Haydn, and is made up of fine musicians from Austria and Hungary, including players from the Vienna Philharmonic, Vienna Symphony Orchestra, and the Hungarian State Symphony Orchestra. The orchestra has undertaken ambitious projects, such as the recording of the entire cycle of Haydn's symphonies, which it completed in 2001. This resident orchestra participates in the annual Haydn Festival and has also appeared in the BBC Proms in London, Mostly Mozart Festival in New York, and the Mozart Week in Salzburg. They have also toured Asia, appearing in Tokyo, Osaka, Taipei, and other major cities. Among guest conductors who have led the Austro-Hungarian Haydn Orchestra have been Manfred Honeck, Helmuth Rilling, Bruno Weil, Richard Hickox, and Trevor Pinnock.

Whether a brilliant trumpet concerto, a peppery piano trio, a piano variation of intimate virtuosity, or the most famous timpani beat in the whole of recording history, Joseph Haydn always holds witty surprises in store. Haydn was also a gifted acoustic expert who always factored the sound qualities of his performance spaces into his compositions. For the first time MDG is now presenting five selected recordings of music by the Esterháza master on an audio-only Blu-ray Disc together with the enhancements offered by a three dimensional 2222+ recording. And it all comes with an audiophile fun guarantee!

Adam Fischer and the Haydn Philharmonic are of course on hand to display their full musical powers at the original performance site. The overture to La fedeltà premiata must also once have been presented at Esterházy Castle in Eisenstadt. The hall has survived in its original state, and the precision with which 2222+ sound transports the horn soloists from its four corners into the listener's living room is simply amazing!

Wolfgang Bauer explores all the aspects of the famous Trumpet Concerto in the marvelous brilliance of church acoustics in a performance with the Württemberg Chamber Orchestra, with an elegance and suppleness beyond compare. Symphonic Surprise

Who might present music from Viennese classicism more authentically than the Vienna Piano Trio? With a dash of mischief, enormous dynamic breadth, and articulation rich in variants, the three musicians explore all the nooks and crannies of Haydn's chamber music.

A special treat: Jin Ju plays Haydn's enchanting Variations Hob. XVII on the "Manfred Bürki" Steinway grand piano from 1901. This exceptional Chinese pianist celebrates a transparent, pas- tel-colored tone painting with the double variations so highly valued by Haydn.

The Haydn Philharmonic under Adam Fischer makes for an audiophile experience of a special kind with its rendering of the "Surprise Symphony." You are in for a big surprise!

Five masterpieces in exemplary interpretations and in outstanding three-dimensional surround sound - this Pure Audio Blu-ray Disc plays immediately, without a TV menu, and is a listening feast for audiophiles and discriminating music lovers.

Notes & Reviews:

Region: All
Picture Format: Blu-Ray, 16:9, Color
Sound Format(s): DTS HD Master Audio, PCM Stereo


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

Works Details

>Haydn, Franz Joseph : Concerto for Trumpet in E flat major, H 7e no 1
  • Conductor: Adam Fischer
  • Ensemble: Austro-Hungarian Haydn Orchestra
  • Period Time: Classical
  • Form: Concerto
  • Written: 1796
  • Studio/Live: Live

>Haydn, Franz Joseph : Symphony no 94 in G major, H 1 no 94 "Surprise"
  • Period Time: Classical
  • Form: Orchestral
  • Written: 1791
  • Studio/Live: Live