1 800 222 6872

Thomas Ades: The Tempest, opera / Simon Keenlyside, Audrey Luna, Alan Oke, Isabel Leonard, Alek Shrader. MET Opera, Ades [DVD]

Notes & Reviews:

Based on Shakespeare's great play, the new opera by English composer Thomas Adès has been acclaimed as a modern masterpiece. Released on DVD for the first time ever. "The Tempest" tells the story of the magician Prospero and his daughter Miranda, shipwrecked on an enchanted island where human dramas intertwine with supernatural happenings. An exceptional new release ahead of the Shakespeare anniversary year (450th birthday on 26th April 2014).

Visually spectacular and endlessly inventive, the production by visionary director Robert Lepage places the drama in a glittering recreation of Milan's LaScala opera house. "The Tempest" features a superb cast, headed by the charismatic baritone Simon Keenlyside as Prospero - the role he created at the opera's premiere at the Royal Opera House, Covent Garden. Miranda is sung by Met rising-star Isabel Leonard and Audrey Luna gives a truly staggering display of vocal virtuosity as the spirit Ariel. The performance, captured live at The Met, is conducted by the composer Thomas Adès. A co-production of the Metropolitan Opera, L'Opéra de Québec, and the Wiener Staatsoper.

Wall Street Journal
This is the Met at its adventurous best.

Associated Press
... magical score... filled with memorable passages of striking originality.

The New York Times
One of the most inspired, audacious and personal operas to have come along in years.

Notes & Reviews:

Run Time: 97 min.
Region: 0
Picture Format: NTSC, 16:9, Color
Sound Format(s): PCM Stereo, DTS 5.1
Subtitles: English, German, French, Spanish, Korean


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

Works Details

>Thomas Adès (Conductor/Composer) (1971 - ) : The Fayrfax Carol
  • Performers: William Burden; Kevin Burdette; Iestyn Davies; Christopher Feigum; Simon Keenlyside; Isabel Leonard; Audrey Luna; Alan Oke; Alek Shrader; Toby Spence
  • Conductor: Thomas Ades
  • Ensemble: Metropolitan Opera Ballet
  • Period Time: Contemporary
  • Form: Christmas
  • Written: 1997
  • Studio/Live: Live