1 800 222 6872

Andreé Tchaikowsky: The Merchant of Venice, opera in 3 acts / Christopher Ainslie, Jason Bridges, Adrian Erod, Verena Gunz, Magdalena Hoffmann, David Stout, Charles Workman [Blu-ray]

Notes & Reviews:

Despite his initial success as a concert pianist, André Tchaikowsky's real passion was composition. "The Merchant of Venice", after Shakespeare, was to remain his only opera. The score, intricate and dark with moments of brutality, lyricism and flashes of acerbic wit, defies attribution to any one 20th century compositional style, intelligently drawing on Britten, Stravinsky and Debussy. "An elite cast make (this) posthumous (world) premiere... "a restitution to remember" - London Telegraph

Notes & Reviews:

Run Time: 250 min.
Region: All
Picture Format: Blu-Ray, 16:9, Color
Sound Format(s): PCM Stereo, DTS HD Master Audio 5.0
Subtitles: English, German, French, Polish


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

Works Details

>André Tchaikowsky : The Merchant of Venice, opera in 3 acts
  • Performers: Christopher Ainslie; Richard Angas; Jason Bridges; Adrian Clarke; Verena Gunz; Hanna Herfurtner; Magdalena Hofmann; Kathryn Lewek; Norman Patzke; David Stout; Charles Workman
  • Conductor: Erik Nielsen
  • Ensemble: Vienna Symphony Orchestra
  • Period Time: Contemporary
  • Form: Opera/Operetta
  • Studio/Live: Live