1 800 222 6872

Berlin Philharmonic: Europe-Concert 2014 - Works by Tchaikovsky, Elgar & Nicolai / Berlin Philharmonic; Barenboim [Blu-ray]

Notes & Reviews:

The founding of the Berliner Philharmoniker on the first of May in 1882, is annually celebrated with a concert in an European city of cultural significance. In 2014 the EUROPAKONZERT took again place in Berlin. The concert was conducted by a man who has been associated with the Berliner Philharmoniker for 50 years: Daniel Barenboim. Otto Nicolai's The Merry Wives of Windsor is based on William Shakespeare's comedy of the same name, and its lively overture has long since secured a place on the concert stage. Also inspired by a Shakespearean comedy hero is Edward Elgar's symphonic study Falstaff. We then turn from comedy to the tragic twists of fate: The Fifth Symphony of Piotr Tchaikovsky is characterized by a sombre main theme that for the Russian composer symbolizes "a complete resignation before fate, which is the same as the inscrutable predestination of fate".

Notes & Reviews:

Run Time: 120 min.
Region: 0
Picture Format: NTSC, 16:9, Color
Sound Format(s): PCM Stereo, DD 5.1, DTS 5.1
Subtitles: English, German, French, Italian


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review