1 800 222 6872

Ode to Freedom': Beethoven's 9th Symphony & Classical Musicians in the Cold War / Hruba-Freiberger, Soffel, Wagner, Howell; Gewandhuas Chorus & Orchestra; Masur. [Blu-ray]

Album Summary

>Beethoven, Ludwig van : Symphony no 9 in D minor, Op. 125 "Choral"
Performers Conductor Ensembles Composer

Notes & Reviews:

This Arthaus Musik Blu-ray combines two unique programs celebrating the 25th anniversary of the 9 November 1989 fall of the Berlin Wall. The performance of Beethoven's Ninth at the Gewandhaus in Leipzig in a reunited Germany was a great success for music director Kurt Masur. The Echo Award winning documentary Classical and Cold War - Musicians in the GDR by Thomas Zintl spans the range from the two German states' 1949 founding to the Wall's fall. Using archive material and contemporary witness interviews, the film draws the parallelism between the cultural and political developments.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Works Details

>Beethoven, Ludwig van : Symphony no 9 in D minor, Op. 125 "Choral"
  • Performers: Gwynne Howell; Venceslava Hruba-Freiberger; Doris Soffel; James Wagner
  • Conductor: Kurt Masur
  • Ensemble: Gewandhaus Orchestra
  • Period Time: Classical
  • Form: Orchestral
  • Written: 1822-1824
  • Studio/Live: Live