1 800 222 6872

Nikolaus Harnoncourt: The Opera Collection - Beethoven: Fidelio; Weber: Der Freischütz; Schumann: Genoveva / Nylund, Kaufmann, Polgár, Muff, Nielsen, et al.; Orchestra & Chorus of the Zurich Opera House; Harnoncourt [Blu-ray]

Notes & Reviews:

Nikolaus Harnoncourt is one of the few true star conductors worldwide. His first opera production dates from 1971; soon after this he embarked on a fruitful collaboration with Jean- Pierre Ponnelle at the Zurich Opera. Mr. Harnoncourt has maintained his close connection with the Zurich Opera to this day. Arthaus Musik presents three of his legendary Zurich productions in this unique Opera Collection. Staged by famous directors Ruth Berghaus, Ju¨rgen Flimm and Martin Kus?ej, with renowned stars of the opera scene, these documents are true highlights of Maestro Harnoncourt's work.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

Works Details

>Weber, Carl Maria von : Der Freischütz, opera, J. 277 (Op. 77)
  • Performers: Chen Davidson; Werner Groschel; Inga Nielsen; Malin Hartelius; Matti Salminen; Peter Seiffert; László Polgár; Volker Vogel; Raphael Clamer
  • Conductor: Nikolaus Harnoncourt
  • Ensemble: Zurich Opera House Orchestra
  • Period Time: Classical
  • Form: Opera/Operetta
  • Written: 1817-1821
  • Studio/Live: Live

>Beethoven, Ludwig van : Fidelio, Op. 72
  • Performers: Camilla Nylund; Jonas Kaufmann; Alfred Muff; László Polgár; Elizabeth Magnuson; Christoph Strehl; Günther Groissböck; Boguslaw Bidzinski; Gabriel Bermudez
  • Conductor: Nikolaus Harnoncourt
  • Ensemble: Zurich Opera House Chorus
  • Period Time: Classical
  • Written: 1805-1806
  • Studio/Live: Live

>Schumann, Robert : Genoveva, Op. 81
  • Performers: Juliane Banse; Shawn Mathey; Martin Gantner; Cornelia Kallisch; Alfred Muff; Ruben Drole; Tomasz Slawinski; Matthew Leigh
  • Period Time: Romantic
  • Form: Opera/Operetta
  • Written: 1846-1849
  • Studio/Live: Live