1 800 222 6872

Prokofiev: War and Peace, opera / Yelena Prochina, Irina Bogachova, Alexander Gergalov, Nicolai Okhotnikov, Gegam Grigorian, Olga Borodina. Valery Gergiev (live, St. Petersburg 1991) [Blu-ray]

Notes & Reviews:

Who is the most famous 20th c. tenor? Which opera is the most acclaimed? Which conductor inspires most ingeniously? To these and other questions there are no unequivocal answers; rather, it requires individual assessment, and subjective appreciation! Arthaus Musik has undertaken an exploration to perhaps answer such questions. And many options are included in the new Legendary Performances series. The first 10 operas of this series bring not only the ‘big names’ but also many others – be it singers, composers, conductors, stage directors, scenic designers, and even opera houses.

Notes & Reviews:

Run Time: 248 min.
Region: All
Picture Format: Blu-Ray, 4:3, Color
Sound Format(s): PCM Stereo,
Subtitles: English, German, French, Spanish


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

Works Details

>Prokofiev, Sergei : War and Peace, Op. 91
  • Performers: Irina Bogachova; Olga Borodina; Alexandr Gergalov; Gegam Grigorian; Nikolai Okhotnikov; Yelena Prochina
  • Conductor: Valery Gergiev
  • Ensemble: Mariinsky Theatre Chorus
  • Period Time: Post Romantic
  • Form: Opera/Operetta
  • Written: 1943/1952
  • Studio/Live: Live