1 800 222 6872

Franz Schubert: Fierrabras / Michael Schade, Julia Kletter, Benjamin Bernheim, Dorothea Roschmann. Vienna PO & State Opera Chorus, Ingo Metzmacher [DVD]

Notes & Reviews:

Fierrabras of 1823 is the last of Franz Schubert’s stage works. Rarely performed to this day, this heroic-romantic opera has now been staged for the first time ever at the Salzburg Festival by famous director Peter Stein. Based on an old French 12th-century epic, the plot depicts the military conflict between Christians and Moors at the time of Charlemagne – as a backdrop to stories of love and friendship that prove to be stronger than war and hatred of otherness. The strong cast includes the “marvellously expressive miracle Dorothea Röschmann” (Die Zeit) and “Michael Schade, who exudes his exceptional tenor in Fierrabras’s heroic arias” (Der neue Merker). Under the energetic baton of lngo Metzmacher, the Vienna Philharmonic unfold “the melos, the poetry, the sweetness and the dramatic force of Schubert’s highly refined and atmospheric sound worlds” (Kleine Zeitung) in highly romantic fashion.

Notes & Reviews:

Run Time: 174 min.
Region: 0
Picture Format: NTSC, 16:9, Color
Sound Format(s): PCM Stereo, DTS 5.0
Subtitles: English, French, Spanish, Japanese, Korean, German


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

Works Details

>Schubert, Franz : Fierrabras, D 796
  • Performers: Benjamin Bernheim; Julia Kleiter; Dorothea Roschmann; Michael Schade; Markus Werba; Georg Zeppenfeld
  • Conductor: Ingo Metzmacher
  • Ensemble: Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra
  • Period Time: Romantic
  • Form: Opera/Operetta
  • Written: 1823
  • Studio/Live: Live