1 800 222 6872

The All-Star Orchestra, Gerard Schwarz - Program 11: Strauss: Ein Heldenleben; Program 12: Mozart: Serenade No. 9 "Posthorn"; Jones: Violin Concerto / Anne Akiko Meyers, violin; Erik Ruske, horn [DVD]

Album Summary

>Strauss, Richard : Ein Heldenleben, Op. 40
>Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus : Serenade no 9 in D major, K 320 "Posthorn"
>Jones, Samuel : Concerto for Violin and Orchestra
Performers Conductor Ensemble Composers

Notes & Reviews:

The multi-Emmy awarded All-Star Orchestra gives you a front row seat to the world's greatest music, performed by top players chosen from over 30 great American orchestras, and conducted by Gerard Schwarz. Two programs are featured on this DVD. Program 11: Richard Strauss' orchestral autobiography from 1899, Ein Heldenleben, is a unique documentary in music, scored for extra-large orchestra - a sonic spectacular, and a showcase for the All-Star musicians, with extended solos by Concertmaster David Kim and Principal Horn Erik Ralske. In this highly pictorial music, the listener follows the "Hero" as he asserts his independence, falls in love, confronts his critics, engages in battle, creates a legacy of peace, and eventually comes to life's end. Program 12: Mozart's magical "Posthorn Serenade" is paired with the World-Premiere of Samuel Jones' Violin Concerto with renowned soloist Anne Akiko Meyers performing on the legendary Vieuxtemps Guarneri violin. This event showcases the collaboration between composer, soloist, and conductor in bringing a new concerto to life.

Notes & Reviews:

Run Time: min.
Region: 0
Picture Format: NTSC, 16:9, Color
Sound Format(s): PCM Stereo,


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

Works Details

>Strauss, Richard : Ein Heldenleben, Op. 40
  • Conductor: Gerard Schwarz
  • Ensemble: All-Star Orchestra
  • Period Time: Post Romantic
  • Form: Orchestral
  • Written: 1897-1898
  • Studio/Live: Live

>Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus : Serenade no 9 in D major, K 320 "Posthorn"
  • Performer: Eric Ruske
  • Period Time: Classical
  • Written: 1779
  • Studio/Live: Live

>Jones, Samuel : Concerto for Violin and Orchestra
  • Performer: Anne Meyers
  • Period Time: Contemporary
  • Form: Concerto
  • Written: 2001
  • Studio/Live: Live