1 800 222 6872

Mieczyslaw Weinberg: The Passenger / Michelle Breedt, Roberto Saccà, Elena Kelessidi, Artur Rucinski, Svetlana Doneva. Vienna SO, Teodor Currentzis (live, Bregenz Festival, 2010) [DVD]

Notes & Reviews:

Continuing its tradition of unearthing little-known 20th-century operas, the Bregenz Festival presented the first staged production of Polish- Russian composer Mieczyslaw Weinberg's "The Passenger" in 2010. Written in 1967/68, the opera relates the chance meeting of a former concentration camp guard and one of her former inmates on an ocean liner years after the war. Bringing the work to vibrant life are the Wiener Symphoniker under Teodor Currentzis; topping the cast are Michelle Breedt and Elena Kelessidi. The work is well served by David Pountney's stage direction and Johan Engels' two-level set, with the ocean liner above and the concentration camp below.

Notes & Reviews:

Run Time: 190 min.
Region: 0
Picture Format: NTSC, 16:9, Color
Sound Format(s): PCM Stereo, Dolby Digital 5.1
Subtitles: Polish, English, German, French, Korean, Japanese


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

Works Details

>Weinberg, Mieczyslaw : The Passenger
  • Performers: Michelle Breedt; Svetlana Doneva; Elena Kelessidi; Artur Rucinski; Roberto Sacca
  • Conductor: Teodor Currentzis
  • Ensemble: Prague Philharmonic Chorus
  • Period Time: Modern
  • Form: Opera/Operetta
  • Studio/Live: Live