1 800 222 6872

Sibelius: The Complete Symphies Nos. 1 - 7; Documentary 'Sort of Sibelus' / Finnish Radio SO, Hannu Lintu (live, Helsinki Music Centre) [5 DVD]

Notes & Reviews:

A beautifully packaged DVD box edition commemorating Sibelius' 150th birthday with a spotlight on his seminal symphony cycle that are among the canonical works of the 20th century. With the musical evocations of his Finnish landscape Sibelius' symphonic works are known for their depth and technical challenge and continue to provide challenge for conductors and performers and delight to audiences. Sibelius likened his symphonies to declarations of faith, and the Finnish Radio Symphony Orchestra led by Hannu Lintu deliver mightily towards this mission with this comprehensive collection. For the first time, the entirety of Sibelius's symphonies are available in audio-visual format with the outstanding addition of documentaries that precede each symphony narrated by Lintu providing context and information. The short film series "Sort Of Sibelius!" is also included and it introduces the man behind the music with narration provided by one of the more scintillating composers working today, Sibelius' compatriot Kaija Saariaho.

Notes & Reviews:

Run Time: 584 min.
Region: 0
Picture Format: NTSC, 16:9, Color
Sound Format(s): PCM Stereo, Dolby Digital 5.0
Subtitles: English, German, French, Korean, Japanese


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased