1 800 222 6872

Maria João Pires, Portrait of a Pianist. A Film by Werner Zeindler, 1991 - performances of music by Mozart, Chopin, Schumann, Poulenc, Beethoven & Schubert [DVD]

Notes & Reviews:

Any discussion of great modern pianists must include Maria Joćo Pires feted with a re-release of this rarely seen documentary filmed in the mid-1980s. Filmed at a time of personal rebound from a period of ill health, Pires speaks to her life and work with the same thoughtfulness and intensity that characterize her performances. Featuring Mozart's Concerto in A major K. 488, Coronation Concerto K. 537 and Piano Sonata K. 280, Chopin's Nocturne No. 1 in B flat minor, Schumann's "Abschied" from Waldszenen Op. 82, Poulenc's Sonata for Clarinet and Piano, Beethoven's Piano Sonata in A flat major Op. 110 and Schubert's Moments Musicaux No. 2 A flat major D780.

Notes & Reviews:

Run Time: 60 min.
Region: 0
Picture Format: NTSC, 4:3, Color
Sound Format(s): PCM Stereo,
Subtitles: English, French, German


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased