1 800 222 6872

Russian Opera Classics - Mussorgsky: Boris Godunov; Tchaikovsky: Eugene Onegin; Pique Dame; Rimisky-Korsakov: Legend of the Invisible City of Kitezh; Shostakovich: Lady Macbeth of Mtsensk [8 DVD]

Notes & Reviews:

Mussorgsky sets the stage, managing to embody Mother Russia in his monumental tale of Nation and Tsar at an eventful turn in history. Two more texts by Pushkin see achingly lyrical realisations by Tchaikovsky, who first tells of the callous, young Eugene Onegin and his tragic story of illusion, disaffection and frustrated love, and then, in Pique Dame, of the soldier Hermann, who is obsessed with the aristocratic Lisa and with coaxing a winning secret from her gambling grandmother, the Queen of Spades. In Rimsky-Korsakov's The Legend of the Invisible City of Kitezh, his finest work for the stage, the master orchestrator spins a supernatural tale with the mystical flavour and steady unfolding of a legend of redemption, while Shostakovich runs the gamut of love, lust, power and oppression in Lady Macbeth of Mtsensk, a drama exploring the shadowy boundaries between victim and perpetrator. Orlin Anastassov, Bo Skovhus, Ewa Podles and Eva-Maria Westbroek shine in the title roles, as does Svetlana Ignatovich as the forest maiden Fevronia, in vivid, opulent productions from De Nederlanse Opera and Barcelona's Liceu.

Notes & Reviews:

Run Time: 969 min.
Region: 9
Picture Format: NTSC, 16:9, Color
Sound Format(s): DTS 5.1 Surround, LPCM 2.0, Dolby Digital 2.0
Subtitles: English, French, German


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review