1 800 222 6872

Berlioz: Roman Carnival, overture; Poulenc: Concerto for 2 Pianos; Saint-Seans: Symphony No. 3 'Organ', et al. 'Live at the Théatre Antique d'Orange' / Nicholas Angelich, Martha Argerich, pianos [DVD]

Notes & Reviews:

Martha Argerich and Nicholas Angelich alongside Myung-Whun Chung for a concert homage by the Orchestre Philharmonique de Radio France to its conductor in the magical setting of the Thť‚tre Antique in Orange. From Berlioz to Poulenc by way of Saint-SaŽns The concert begins with Berlioz's Roman Carnival Overture, composed in 1844 and ends with Saint-SaŽns's 3rd Symphony in C minor. This 'Organ' Symphony, dating from 1885-86, is dedicated to Franz Liszt, who had recently died. Between these two works, the internationally celebrated Argentine pianist Martha Argerich and the equally talented American Nicholas Angelich join to interpret Francis Poulenc's Concerto for Two Pianos and Orchestra, a joyous score in the musical spirit of the 1930s. The Korean conductor-pianist Myung-Whun Chung, aged 62, conducts the Orchestre Philharmonique de Radio France, which he has shaped over many long years.

Notes & Reviews:

Run Time: 116 min.
Region: 0
Picture Format: NTSC, 16:9, Color
Sound Format(s): PCM Stereo, Dolby Digital 5.1


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased