1 800 222 6872

Mahler: Symphony No. 9 / Daniel Barenboim, Berlin Staatskapelle (rec. 2009) (bonus: Barenboim & Boulez rehearsing Mahler) [DVD]

Notes & Reviews:

Gustav Mahler's colossal Ninth Symphony, the culmination of the Austrian composer's achievements, in a landmark live performance from the Berliner Philharmonie. This concert formed part of The Mahler Project: Daniel Barenboim and Pierre Boulez, two friends and very different world-class conductors, tackling all nine completed symphonies of Mahler with the Staatskapelle Berlin. Before embarking on this journey Barenboim and Boulez entered into a long period of reflection and discussion. For the accompanying documentary, director Christoph Engel compiled a rich selection of statements, conversations and musical excerpts by both conductors that provides a guide to the world of Mahler's towering symphonies. Performed as a complete cycle in Berlin, Vienna and New York, the concerts were a tremendous success. The Financial Times even wrote "New York is going Mahler mad." BONUS: THE MAHLER PROJECT - Daniel Barenboim and Pierre Boulez working on the symphonies of Gustav Mahler

Notes & Reviews:

Run Time: 101 min.
Region: 0
Picture Format: NTSC, 16:9, Color
Sound Format(s): PCM 2.0, DTS 5.1
Subtitles: English, German


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased