1 800 222 6872

Europakonzert 2016 - Mendelssohn: Violin Concerto; Beethoven: Symphony No. 3 'Eroica'; Grieg: Evening in the Mountains / Vilde Frang, violin; Berlin PO, Simon Rattle [Blu-ray]

Conductor Ensemble

Notes & Reviews:

The Berliner Philharmoniker celebrate their founding day (May 1st, 1892) in a European city of cultural significance every year. In 2016, the choice has fallen on the beautiful Baroque church of Roros, a Norwegian mining town whose intact picturesque old town makes it a UNESCO World Heritage Site Vilde Frang (winner of the ECHO Klassik in 2013 and 2015) gave her debut with the Berliner Philharmoniker. Her playing is characterized by warmth, elegance and effortless virtuosity: ideal requirements for Mendelssohn's noble, songful Violin Concerto in E Minor.

The audience also gained an insight into a key project of the Philharmoniker's 2015/2016 season: Sir Simon Rattle and the orchestra performed the "Eroica", a symphony from the Beethoven cycle which caused a sensation in Berlin and on their international tour.


Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy: Violin Concerto E minor Op. 64

Ludwig van Beethoven: Symphony No. 3 in E Flat major Op. 55

Bjarne Brustad: Veslefrikk

Edvard Grieg: Evening in the mountains Op. 68/4

Berliner Philharmoniker, Sir Simon Rattle, Vilde Frang

Live from the Church of Roeros, 1 May 2016, directed by Henning Kasten

Notes & Reviews:

Run Time: 90 min.
Region: All
Picture Format: Blu-Ray, 16:9, Color
Sound Format(s): PCM Stereo, DTS HD Master Audio 5.0


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased