1 800 222 6872

Elegance, The Art of Jirí Kylián - Three Ballets: Bella figura; Sleepless; Birth-Day. Music by Lucas Foss, Pergolesi, Vivaldi, Mozart, Haubrich et al. / Netherland Dance Theater [DVD]

Notes & Reviews:

This production of Three Ballets by Jiri Kylian is part of Arthaus Musik's Elegance Series, which is a collection of ballet performances from the world's best dance houses featuring the greatest choreographers and celebrating the legacy of legendary choreographer Marius Petipa. The first featured ballet, Bella Figura, was described by Jiri Kylian as "A journey in time- light and space, addressing the ambiguity of aesthetics- performances and dreams. Finding beauty in a grimace- in a knot of the mind- or in a physical contortion. It is like trying to perform a balancing act on the string of our umbilical cord. Both Sleepless and Birth-Day are based on music by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart. Kylian relied heavily on Mozart's music, as he believed Mozart was "the greatest example of someone whose time between day 'A' and day 'Z' was painfully limited, but who nevertheless has understood life in all its richness... "

Notes & Reviews:

Run Time: 128 min.
Region: 0
Picture Format: NTSC, 16:9, Color
Sound Format(s): PCM Stereo,
Subtitles: German, French, Spanish, Italian


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased