1 800 222 6872

Alban Berg (1885-1935): Lulu / Marlis Petersen; Susan Graham; Daniel Brenna; Paul Groves; Johan Reuter; Lothar Koenigs, The Metropolitan Opera Orchestra [Blu-ray]

Notes & Reviews:

Alban Berg's monumental opera Lulu, which he left unfinished when he died in 1935, had its posthumous premiere in its incomplete version in 1937, with the three-act version that has become standard premiering in 1979. The opera tells the tragic story of a young woman who, as a victim of a harsh society, torments a series of men by whom she is objectified, desired, abused, and eventually killed. Berg adapted the libretto from Frank Wedekind's two Lulu plays, Erdgeist (Earth Spirit, 1895) and Die Büchse der Pandora (Pandora's Box, 1904). He wrote the music using the 12-tone style conceived of his teacher, Arnold Schönberg, but with a nod to Romanticism that makes it unusually accessible for something written by a Schönberg disciple.

Notes & Reviews:

Run Time: 182 min.
Region: All
Picture Format: Blu-Ray, 16:9, Color
Sound Format(s): Dolby True HD 24-bit Surround, Dolby True HD 24-bit Stereo
Subtitles: English, French, German, Russian, Spanish, Swedish


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review