1 800 222 6872

Handel: Saul / Budday, Chance, Argenta, et al

Album Summary

>Handel, George Frideric : Saul, HWV 53
Performers Conductor Ensembles Composer

Notes & Reviews:

This recording is part of a cycle of old testament oratorios by G.F. Handel and is one of the many concerts performed at Maulbronn monastery over the past years. The series combines authentically performed baroque oratorios with the optimal acoustics and atmosphere of this unique monastic church. This ideal location demands the transparency of playing and the interpretive unveiling of the rhetoric intimations of the composition, which is especially aided by the historically authentic pitch (a415) and performance.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Works Details

>Handel, George Frideric : Saul, HWV 53
  • Performers: Nancy Argenta (Soprano); Steffen Balbach (Bass); Steffen Balbach (Bass); Michael Berner (Tenor); Michael Berner (Tenor); Michael Berner (Tenor); Michael Berner (Tenor); Michael Chance (Countertenor); Marc LeBrocq (Tenor); Laurie Reviol (Soprano); Stephen Varcoe (Baritone)
  • Conductor: Jürgen Budday
  • Ensemble: Hannover Hofkapelle
  • Running Time: 150 min. sec.
  • Period Time: Baroque
  • Form: Cantata/Oratorio
  • Written: 1738-1739
  • Language: English
  • Studio/Live: Live