1 800 222 6872

Medtner. Pno Con. No.1. Romantic Cto 8. D.alexeev. Bbc So

Album Summary

>Medtner, Nikolai : Concerto for Piano no 1 in C minor, Op. 33
>Medtner, Nikolai : Piano Quintet in C major, Op. posth.
Performers Conductor Ensembles Composer

Notes & Reviews:

'A tour de force of impassioned eloquence and white-hot intensity' (Piano International)

'Once again Hyperion hold the day. Strongly recommended ... for a first-rate performance of one of the finest of all late-Romantic concertos ever composed, and for a fresh look at a chamber-music masterpiece' (CDReview)

'This concerto is endlessly inventive and splendidly original' (BBC Music Magazine)

'Brilliantly enterprising ... certainly one of the finest in Hyperion's Romantic Concerto series' (Gramophone)

Gramophone Classical Music Guide
For Dmitri Alexeev the First Concerto is Medtner's masterpiece, an argument he sustains in a performance of superb eloquence and discretion.

Even the sort of gestures later vulgarised and traduced by Tinseltown are given with an aristocratic quality, a feel for a love of musical intricacy that takes on an almost symbolic force, but also for Medtner's dislike of display. Time and again Alexeev makes you pause to reconsider Medtner's quality, and his reserve brings distinctive reward.

The early Abbandonamente ma non troppo has a haunting improvisatory inwardness and later, as the storm clouds gather ominously at 11'55", his playing generates all the necessary electricity. How thankful one is, too, for Alexeev's advocacy of the Piano Quintet where, together with his fully committed colleagues, the New Budapest Quartet, he recreates music of the strangest, most unworldly exultance and introspection. Instructions such as poco tranquillo (sereno) and Quasi Hymn take us far away from the turbulence of the First Concerto (composed in the shadow of the First World War) and the finale's conclusion is wonderfully uplifting. The recordings are judiciously balanced in both works, and the BBC Symphony Orchestra under Lazarev are fully sympathetic.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

Works Details

>Medtner, Nikolai : Concerto for Piano no 1 in C minor, Op. 33
  • Performer: Dmitri Alexeev (Piano)
  • Conductor: Alexander Lazarev
  • Running Time: 11 min. 52 sec.
  • Period Time: Post Romantic
  • Form: Concerto
  • Written: 1914-1918

>Medtner, Nikolai : Piano Quintet in C major, Op. posth.
  • Performers: Dmitri Alexeev (Piano); Ferenc Balogh (Violin); László Bársony (Viola); András Kiss (Violin)
  • Conductor: Alexander Lazarev
  • Ensemble: New Budapest String Quartet
  • Running Time: 23 min. 59 sec.
  • Period Time: Post Romantic
  • Form: Chamber Music
  • Written: 1904-1948