1 800 222 6872

Caifanes: El Silencio

Track List

>Nos Vamos Juntos
>No Dejes Que...
>Hasta Morir
>Debajo de Tu Piel
>Estás Dormida
>Miercoles de Ceniza
>Communicador, El
>Para Que No Digas Que No Pienso en Ti
>Vamos a Hacer un Silencio
>Mariquita - (bonus track)

Album Reviews:

Spin (p.108) - "Saul Hernandez lends his mystic falsetto to a heavenly hybrid of Roxy Music and Led Zeppelin."

Album Notes

Caifanes: Saul Hernandez (vocals, guitar); Alejandro Marcovich (acoustic, electric & Spanish guitars); Sabo Romo (acoustic guitar, electric bass); Diego Herrera (saxophone, keyboards, percussion); Alfonso Andre (drums, percussion).

Additional personnel: Adrian Belew (guitar).

Recorded at Royal Recorders, Lake Geneva, Wisconsin.

Personnel: Saul Hernández (vocals, guitar); Adrian Belew (guitar); Alejandro Marcovich (acoustic guitar, electric guitar, Spanish guitar, requinto); Sabo Romo (acoustic guitar, electric bass); Diego Herrera (jarana, saxophone, keyboards, percussion); Alfonso Andre (drums, percussion).

Audio Mixer: Rich Denhart.

Recording information: Royal Recorders, Lake Geneva, WI.

Photographers: Eniac Martinez; Guillermo Granillo.

Arrangers: Diego Herrera; Alejandro Marcovich; Saul Hernández.

Having Adrian Belew produce a Caifanes album must have seemed like a great idea, since the Mexican band had a musical attack as accomplished and eclectic as Belew's own work. Unfortunately, the pairing just doesn't strike sparks here. Belew's influence shows up throughout the album, which has more jittery rhythms and odd dissonances than other albums by the band. This works fine on a few cuts, such as the lively "Nubes," but over the course of the album it is a distraction. That sense of musical clutter may also be due to the attempted expansion of the band -- Caifanes picked up two new members on this album. The experiment was evidently a failure, because both were gone by the time the band recorded their next album. It is notable that the most effective song, the spooky title track, is the one that has the simplest arrangement. "Vamos a Hacer un Silencio" is an unnerving and poetic attack on censorship, and is such a standout track that the songs before and after pale by comparison. El Silencio is worth having for the half of the CD when things come together, but it is not the best from Caifanes. ~ Richard Foss


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

See Also

There are no recommendations posted for this product