1 800 222 6872

Koechlin: Les Heures Persanes / Holliger, SWR Stuttgart SO

Album Summary

>Koechlin, Charles : Les Heures Persanes, suite for orchestra, Op. 65bis
Conductor Ensemble Composer

Notes & Reviews:

"This is a series of 16 evocative tone poems inspired by a writer's trip from the Persian Gulf through Shiraz and Isfahan to the Caspian Sea. Completed in 1919 and orchestrated in 1921, its sound world is as if Alban Berg met Debussy. The textures of this exotic music really do conjure up pictures because the textures are so light, smooth, and transparent; because the orchestral playing is so gorgeous and seamless and because the engineering simply spreads out before you with a best-seat-in-the-house natural ease... Koechlin is at his most delicately imaginative... it just might seduce you."-American Record Guide


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

Works Details

>Koechlin, Charles : Les Heures Persanes, suite for orchestra, Op. 65bis
  • Conductor: Heinz Holliger
  • Ensemble: Stuttgart Radio Symphony Orchestra
  • Notes: Stadthalle Sindelfingen, Sindelfingen, Germany (01/19/2004-01/23/2004)
  • Running Time: 55 min. 19 sec.
  • Period Time: Post Romantic
  • Written: 1921