1 800 222 6872

Pergolesi: Stabat Mater / Scogna, Rubortone, Onorati, et al

Album Summary

>Pergolesi, Giovanni : Stabat Mater
Performer Conductor Ensemble Composer

Notes & Reviews:

This central Baroque masterpiece receives an authoritative performance by Early Music specialist, using the critical edition of the score realized by Helmut Hucke in 1987. Composed for two female soloists with strings and continuo, this work is a setting of the beautiful 14th century verses of Jacopone da Todi describing Mary standing at the foot of the cross. It was an audience success from its first performance thanks to the aura of pathos that colors the composer's last work, as well as by his premature death in 1736 at the age of twenty-six.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Works Details

>Pergolesi, Giovanni : Stabat Mater
  • Performer: Bettina Rubortone
  • Conductor: Flavio Scogna
  • Ensemble: Benedetto Marcello Chamber Orchestra
  • Notes: Sala San Carlo de Museo Archeologico "F. Savini". Teramo, Italy (05/12/2005-05/13/2005)
  • Running Time: 42 min. 7 sec.
  • Period Time: Baroque
  • Written: 1736-1736