1 800 222 6872

Wagner: Die Walküre / Fisch, State Opera of South Australia

Album Summary

>Wagner, Richard : Die Walküre
Performers Conductor Ensembles Composer

Notes & Reviews:

For those of you who were around for the birth of Stereo in the late fifties and who waited expectantly for the first installment of the Solti/Culshaw 'Ring,' life is here repeating itself. Back then, we listened to opera coming out of one speaker. While musically satisfying in many cases, the sound was lifeless. Then came stereo and the operatic stage was before us. Solti/Culshaw and Wagner defined this stage for all. Now comes SACD or more specifically multi-channel surround as opposed to just stereo. When recorded properly as it is in this new Melba 'Walkure,' the aural experience is as profound as the difference between mono and Stereo.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

Works Details

>Wagner, Richard : Die Walküre
  • Performers: Jennifer Barnes (Soprano); John Bröcheler (Baritone); Elizabeth Campbell (Soprano); Donna-Maree Dunlop (Soprano); Lisa Gasteen (Soprano); Richard Green (Bass); Lisa Harper-Brown (Soprano); Liane Keegan (Alto); Kate Ladner (Soprano); Gaye MacFarlane (Soprano); Zan McKendree-Wright (Mezzo Soprano); Deborah Riedel (Soprano); Stuart Skelton (Tenor); Elizabeth Stannard (Soprano)
  • Conductor: Asher Fisch
  • Ensemble: Adelaide Symphony Orchestra
  • Running Time: 223 min. sec.
  • Period Time: Romantic
  • Form: Opera/Operetta
  • Written: 1856
  • Language: German
  • Studio/Live: Live