1 800 222 6872

Schoenberg: Moses und Aron / Kluttig, Schöne, Merritt, et al

Audio Samples

>Schoenberg, Arnold : Moses und Aron, biblical drama in 3 acts (unfinished)

Album Summary

>Schoenberg, Arnold : Moses und Aron, biblical drama in 3 acts (unfinished)
Performers Conductor Ensemble Composer

Notes & Reviews:

In 1921 Arnold Schoenberg was forced to leave his holiday home in Austria because of the rising tide of anti-Semitism in Europe. This experience caused him to re-evaluate his Jewish identity, and was eventually to lead to the composition of his "fragmentary masterpiece" 'Moses und Aron'. The opera draws its figures and motifs from the Book of Exodus, and the conflict between the beliefs of the two central characters is reflected in the music. Schoenberg died six years before its premiere, but he regarded 'Moses und Aron' as his most important work.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased



Works Details

>Schoenberg, Arnold : Moses und Aron, biblical drama in 3 acts (unfinished)
  • Performers: Sasa Vrabac (Bass); Chris Vocal] (Tenor); Michael Ebbecke (Baritone); Irena Bespalovaite (Soprano); Ilona Wirgler (Voice); Barbara Kosviner (Voice); Stephan Storck (Bass); Peter Schaufelberger (Voice); Wolfgang Schöne (Bass); Alois Riedel (Tenor); Karl-Friedrich Dürr (Voice); Siegfried Laukner (Voice); Ulrich Frisch (Bass); Naomi Ishizu (Voice); Ingrid Zielosko (Voice); Emma Curtis (Alto); Bernard Schneider (Voice); Helga Indrioadottir (Voice)
  • Conductor: Roland Kluttig
  • Ensemble: Stuttgart State Opera Chorus
  • Notes: Staatsoper Stuttgart, Stuttgart, Germany (12/08/2003/12/10/2003)
  • Running Time: 10 min. 2 sec.
  • Period Time: Post Romantic
  • Form: Opera/Operetta
  • Written: 05/1930-03/1932
  • Studio/Live: Live