1 800 222 6872

Mozart: Clarinet Quintet, "Kegelstatt" Trio / Meyer, et al

Album Summary

>Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus : Quintet for Clarinet and Strings in A major, K 581
>Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus : Trio for Clarinet, Viola and Piano in E flat major, K 498 "Kegelstatt"
Performers Ensemble Composer

Notes & Reviews:

"I stand the risk of being attacked for hyperbole, but I must say it. Quite simply, this is one of the finest recordings of the Clarinet Quintet, period or not! A perfect balance of forward direction and a sense of the "long line" is coupled with warm, expressive, stylish playing all around. It is Mozart "without tears", which is just fine! High points of I include the thrill of hearing for once the dovetailed string 16ths played accurately and musically as the figure is tossed around in the development (a difficult spot in many performances). Meyer's graceful articulation is especially appreciated. The exposition repeat is taken. The ineffable, unearthly beauty of II comes through effortlessly, like a blessing. Meyer's slight but tasteful embellishments on the return of the opening are delicious. In III, the first two notes are agogically placed (very tasteful and idiomatic), setting up a nice flowing tempo with forward direction. In trio I, the accompanying string chords speak just behind the beat. Trio II flows gracefully forward as a "true" landler. The perky articulation of Meyer's instrument in the ascending arpeggios at the end of trio II is delightful, though the final ritard is out of character. Meyer very slightly embellishes the minuet theme on the return. In variation 1 of IV the low basset notes need to be more audible the first time. The clarinet 16ths of variation 3 are wonderfully bubbly, matched by Hobarth's virtuoso display in his answering 16ths. The final clarinet note wobbles slightly in pitch. Meyer takes his greatest expressive liberties in the adagio variation, with another tasty Meyer embellishment on the dominant seventh at variation's end. The coda is the lively, perfect conclusion to a stellar performance. The Clarinet Trio is an extraordinary work even by Mozart's standards: unusual instrumentation (clarinet, viola, piano), unusual form (slow first movement, minuet second, and rondo finale), and intimacy. Patrick Cohen plays on a Viennese hammerflugel that produces an unobtrusive, attractive sound that takes on harp-like qualities sometimes. The performance is perky, expressive, and articulate, with warmth and bonhomie-the sort of infectious playing that grows on you. A full range of colors from delicate to vigorous are evident in the graceful playing of II. Meyer's high notes in the trio are very delicate, wonderfully controlled, and magical in sound, Perfect fleetness and grace in III are personified by the lightness of the hammerflugel, a model for pianists to attempt this sound and touch on modern pianos. This recording demonstrates what chamber music playing is all about (musicians truly listening and interacting). Even if you already have these works, treat yourself to this one!" -ARG


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

Works Details

>Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus : Quintet for Clarinet and Strings in A major, K 581
  • Performer: Wolfgang Meyer (Clarinet)
  • Ensemble: Quatuor Mosaïques
  • Running Time: 31 min. 7 sec.
  • Period Time: Classical
  • Form: Chamber Music
  • Written: 1789

>Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus : Trio for Clarinet, Viola and Piano in E flat major, K 498 "Kegelstatt"
  • Performers: Patrick Cohen (Fortepiano); Wolfgang Meyer (Clarinet); Anita Mitterer (Viola)
  • Notes: Composition written: 1786.
  • Running Time: 19 min. 39 sec.
  • Period Time: Classical
  • Form: Chamber Music
  • Written: 1786