1 800 222 6872

Wagner: Parsifal / Knappertsbusch, Thomas, Dalis, London

Album Summary

>Wagner, Richard : Parsifal
Performers Conductor Ensemble Composer

Notes & Reviews:

"This is not merely one of Philips's Great Recordings but also one of the greatest sets of all time. Every time one returns to it, its inspiration and distinction seem to have been enhanced, its all-enveloping eloquence the more evident. Its overriding advantage over all other recordings of the work is Knappertsbush's masterly traversal of the score, even more aware of dramatic impetus, long line and Wagnerian import...There have been much-admired Parsifals in more recent times but none of these studio-made sets quite catches the immediacy and inevitability of this moving and elevated version, now sounding freshened in its remastered form. At mid-price, a very special experience is in store for any newcomer to the work." -Gramophone


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

Works Details

>Wagner, Richard : Parsifal
  • Performers: Rita Bartos (Soprano); Ursula Boese (Mezzo Soprano); Sona Cervena (Mezzo-soprano); Irene Dalis (Mezzo Soprano); Else-Margrete Gardelli (Voice); Hans Hotter (Voice); Gundula Janowitz (Voice); George London (Baritone); Niels Moller (Tenor); Gustav Neidlinger (Baritone); Gerd Nienstedt (Bass); Georg Paskuda (Tenor); Dorothea Siebert (Soprano); Anja Silja (Soprano); Gerhard Stolze (Tenor); Martti Talvela (Bass); Jess Thomas (Tenor)
  • Conductor: Hans Knappertsbusch
  • Ensemble: Bayreuth Festival Chorus
  • Running Time: 163 min. 14 sec.
  • Period Time: Romantic
  • Form: Opera/Operetta
  • Written: 1878-1882
  • Studio/Live: Live