1 800 222 6872

Beethoven: Symphony no 9 / Vänskä, Juntunen, et al

Album Summary

>Beethoven, Ludwig van : Symphony no 9 in D minor, Op. 125 "Choral"
Performers Conductor Ensembles Composer

Notes & Reviews:

Import Hybrid-SACD pressing.

Gramophone Classical Music Guide, 2010
VSnskS offers a radical re-think of Beethoven's Choral Symphony, a youthful, brave statement, free of iconic influences. Considered in purely musical terms, his version would better fit the idea of revolution through renewal.

The opening of VSnskS's Choral, though deathly quiet, is chiselled and precise, the first tutti like a fireball from the heavens, much aided by a hugely dynamic recording. Within a mere minute or two, one quality has made its mark with maximum force, namely rhythm, tight as a drum... And when the chorus enters, well... In a word, VSnska's finale is full of zeal.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

Works Details

>Beethoven, Ludwig van : Symphony no 9 in D minor, Op. 125 "Choral"
  • Performers: Neal Davies (Bass); Helena Juntunen (Soprano); Katarina Karnéus (Mezzo Soprano); Daniel Norman (Treble)
  • Conductor: Osmo Vanska
  • Ensemble: Minnesota Chorale
  • Running Time: 65 min. 46 sec.
  • Period Time: Classical
  • Form: Orchestral
  • Written: 1822-1824
  • Language: German
  • Studio/Live: Studio