1 800 222 6872

Herzogenberg: Die Geburt Christi / Beckert, et al

Album Summary

>Herzogenberg, Heinrich von : Die Geburt Christi, oratorio for soloists, chorus & orchestra, Op 90
Performers Conductor Ensemble Composer

Notes & Reviews:

During recent years CPO has released a mass and several premiere recordings of chamber music by Heinrich von Herzogenberg, a composer often only vaguely indicated on the map of the musical world, with the interim result being a movement toward freeing him from the label of a minor master and Brahms epigone. And now we are happy to be able to present to you his Christmas oratorio 'Die Geburt Christi' (The Birth of Christ) on CD. He composed it at the suggestion of Friedrich Spitta, a theology professor and the brother of the Bach researcher Philipp Spitta: "I had in mind a work that could be performed with the simplest means and would counter the variety but stylistic dullness of the programs of our church choirs during the Christmas season." And so Herzogenberg composed an oratorio for four-part choir, six soloists, harmonium, a little string ensemble, and an oboe on the basis of the Bible, hymnbook texts, and Boehme's folk songs.

Classics Today
The choirs are wonderful and conductor Christian Grube masterfully manages them and his excellent orchestral forces to muster what should be a much better known reading of what should be a much more frequently performed work... . Highly recommended.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

Works Details

>Herzogenberg, Heinrich von : Die Geburt Christi, oratorio for soloists, chorus & orchestra, Op 90
  • Performers: Michael Bauer (Voice); Philipp Gaiser (Bass); Tilman Lichdi (Tenor); Benedikt Nawrath (Tenor); Alexandra Steiner (Soprano)
  • Conductor: Matthias Beckert
  • Ensemble: Herzogenberg Orchestra Würzburg
  • Notes: Würzburger Neubaukirche (12/03/2005-12/04/2005)
  • Running Time: 2 min. 8 sec.
  • Period Time: Romantic
  • Form: Cantata/Oratorio
  • Studio/Live: Live