1 800 222 6872

Mussorgsky, Tchaikovsky / Sokhiev, et al

Album Summary

>Mussorgsky, Modest : Pictures at an exhibition
>Tchaikovsky, Peter Ilyich : Symphony no 4 in F minor, Op. 36
Conductor Ensemble
  • >

Notes & Reviews:

"Tugan Sokhiev is still 29, so it seems ludicrously early to talk of a "comeback". Nevertheless, after his early departure from Welsh National Opera, this triumphant disc feels very much like one. At a stroke, in his vivid, supple and stylistically on-the-button readings, he announces himself as a man to watch. Bravo, good for him!" -Gramophone (Editor's Choice selection)

Gramophone Classical Music Guide
Every so often a disc comes along that really makes you sit up. This is such a disc. Tugan Sokhiev is back in his element dispensing star quality with almost every bar of this coupling. If the ability to create atmosphere, to transport, to excite, to provoke reassessment of a piece, are the first signs of greatness then Sokhiev's beautifully heard and richly imagined account of Mussorgsky's Pictures is very much the promise of things to come. It is the case throughout that the subtlety, the piquancy, the Frenchness of Ravel's colourations appear disarmingly pristine - as in 'why have I never noticed that before?' One quibble amid everything that is so well judged (and so well played) is the increasing of tempo as 'The Great Gate of Kiev' is finally flung wide. Why? No quibbles at all about the Tchaikovsky, though. Seriously, this is one of the most impressive accounts since the days of Markevitch and Mravinsky. Sokhiev makes real musical and emotional sense of the notoriously hazardous first movement. The listless, febrile nature of it reaches great heights in the development and coda where the hair-raising tremolando restatement of the first subject achieves real catharsis. Indeed, Sokhiev's songful Toulouse woodwinds - so poetic in the Andantino - cannot for long disguise an air of desperation. The whizz-bang finale delivers that in spades.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

Works Details

>Mussorgsky, Modest : Pictures at an exhibition
  • Conductor: Tugan Sokhiev
  • Running Time: 30 min. 46 sec.
  • Period Time: Romantic
  • Written: 1874-1922

>Tchaikovsky, Peter Ilyich : Symphony no 4 in F minor, Op. 36
  • Conductor: Tugan Sokhiev
  • Running Time: 42 min. 4 sec.
  • Period Time: Romantic
  • Form: Orchestral
  • Written: 1878