1 800 222 6872

Bach, Tchaikovsky / Mengelberg, Concertgebouw Orchestra

Album Summary

>Bach, Johann Sebastian : Saint Matthew Passion, BWV 244
>Tchaikovsky, Peter Ilyich : Symphony no 6 in B minor, Op. 74 "Pathetique"
Performers Conductor Ensembles Composers

Notes & Reviews:

When Mengelberg conducted this 'St. Matthew Passion' in 1939, he had been associated with the Concertgebouw for almost fifty years. The vocal soloists, particularly Ravelli, van Tulder and Vincent, were arguably at the peak of their careers. The special rapport between conductor and musicians gave a unique quality of expression to their interpretations, as can be heard in this extraordinary and compelling performance. Paired with Tchaikovsky's 'Pathetique' symphony.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

Works Details

>Bach, Johann Sebastian : Saint Matthew Passion, BWV 244
  • Performers: Hubert Barwahser (Flute); G. Blanchard (Oboe da caccia); Ilona Durigo (Alto); Karl Erb (Tenor); Johannes Hertog (Harpsichord); W. Peddemors (Oboe da caccia); Willem Ravelli (Bass); Hermann Schey (Baritone); Piet Van Egmond (Organ); Louis Van Tulder (Tenor); Jo Vincent (Soprano); Louis Zimmermann (Violin)
  • Conductor: Willem Mengelberg
  • Ensemble: Amsterdam Toonkunst Chorus
  • Period Time: Baroque
  • Form: Cantata/Oratorio
  • Written: ?1727
  • Language: German
  • Studio/Live: Live

>Tchaikovsky, Peter Ilyich : Symphony no 6 in B minor, Op. 74 "Pathétique"
  • Conductor: Willem Mengelberg
  • Ensemble: Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra
  • Period Time: Romantic
  • Form: Orchestral
  • Written: 1893
  • Studio/Live: Studio