1 800 222 6872

Beethoven: Symphony no 9 / Haitink, Robinson, etc

Album Summary

>Beethoven, Ludwig van : Symphony no 9 in D minor, Op. 125 "Choral"
Performers Conductor Ensemble Composer

Notes & Reviews:

"Enough orchestral punch to knock a listener senseless...we are caught in the grip of a performance of quite uncommon fervour." -The Times (UK)

Gramophone Magazine
The slow third movementà moves along at a pace few conductors would have employed fifty years ago. Yet it never sounds hurried, and the dramatic brass interruptions towards its close have an appropriately apocalyptic ring. The extraordinarily vivid recording, in which the basses are caught to stupendous effect - especially in their passages of recitative as they reject the first three movements at the opening of the fourth before welcoming the 'Joy' theme - adds hugely to the effect.

The Guardian
The conclusion to Bernard Haitink's Beethoven cycle with the London Symphony Orchestra was its crowning glory: a performance of the Ninth Symphony of shattering, visionary power. Haitink's mastery of Beethoven's structures has never been in doubt, but what is surprising is how much he seems to have learned from the early music movement in moulding his new approach to these pieces... Yet Haitink pulled everything together in a coda of unbounded joy à This is a Beethoven cycle for our times, an ideal balance of Haitink's newfound sense of discovery in these pieces and the LSO's authority


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

Works Details

>Beethoven, Ludwig van : Symphony no 9 in D minor, Op. 125 "Choral"
  • Performers: Karen Cargill (Mezzo Soprano); Gerald Finley; John MacMaster (Tenor); Twyla Robinson (Soprano)
  • Conductor: Bernard Haitink
  • Ensemble: London Symphony Orchestra
  • Notes: Barbican, London, England (04/29/2005-04/30/2005)
  • Running Time: 67 min. 29 sec.
  • Period Time: Classical
  • Form: Orchestral
  • Written: 1824