1 800 222 6872

Montsalvatge: Puss in Boots, opera / Isabel Monar, Marisa Martins, Antoni Comas, Enric Martínez-Castignani, Stefano Palatchi

Album Summary

>Montsalvatge, Xavier : El Gato con Botas, opera
Performers Conductor Ensemble Composer

Notes & Reviews:

"El gato con botas was the first of [Montsalvatge]'s three operas; it is the well-known kid's story about the sly cat who makes deals with its master. The music has an instantly familiar ring to it and the forms--recitative and aria--keep it well in the tradition of the type of comic works that were being written around 1800 ... This performance is delightful, with Marisa Martin a cat to reckon with--not only cunning but alluring ... If you don't know the work of Montsalvatge, this might be a good place to start." -Bob Levine

A magical, mysterious opera in five scenes! The opera's libretto is signed by Néstor Luján, based on a fairy tale of Charles Perrault. The CD includes a multimedia bonus with interviews and images of the recording.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

Works Details

>Montsalvatge, Xavier : El Gato con Botas, opera
  • Performers: Isabel Monar (Soprano); Marisa Martins (Mezzo Soprano); Stefano Palatchi (Bass); Antonio Comas (Voice); Enric Martínez-Castignani
  • Conductor: Antoni Ros Marbá
  • Ensemble: Symphony Orchestra of the Gran Teatre del Liceu
  • Notes: Sala Mestres Cabanes del Gran Teatre del Liceu (09/07/2002/09/11/2002)
  • Running Time: 8 min. 5 sec.
  • Period Time: Post Romantic
  • Written: 1948