1 800 222 6872

Bach: Mass in B minor / Rilling, Bach Collegium, et al

Album Summary

>Bach, Johann Sebastian : Mass in B minor, BWV 232
Performers Conductor Ensemble Composer

Notes & Reviews:

The long-awaited new recording from internationally renowned conductor and Bach expert Helmuth Rilling features his Gachinger Kantorei Stuttgart and the Bach-Collegium Stuttgart along with an assembly of outstanding young soloists. This is the very first recording of the B Minor Mass in glorious SACD sound! Helmuth Rilling is the only conductor to perform and record all of Bach's major choral works, and has received unanimous acclaim from critics and listeners. Rilling's dynamic style is rooted deeply in the Germanic tradition, with influences from the Historic Performance Practice school yet utterly individual in his approach. "Rilling's approach has matured and crystallized into a shimmering vision! THIS is the recording to have!" -Classics Today


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

Works Details

>Bach, Johann Sebastian : Mass in B minor, BWV 232
  • Performers: Marlis Petersen (Soprano); Stella Doufexis (Mezzo Soprano); Franz-Josef Selig (Bass); Lothar Odinius (Tenor); Christian Gerhaher (Baritone)
  • Conductor: Helmuth Rilling
  • Ensemble: Gächinger Kantorei Stuttgart
  • Notes: Neu-Ulm, Edwin-Scharff-Haus (02/11/2005-02/13/2005)
  • Running Time: 100 min. 38 sec.
  • Period Time: Baroque
  • Form: Choral
  • Written: 1748-1749