1 800 222 6872

The Piano Music of Louis Glass / Peter Seivewright

Notes & Reviews:

For those who have been collecting the fascinating Symphonies by this Danish composer over the years, this select release of piano music will prove a delightful supplement. Carl Nielsen was, of course, the most important of many Danish composers who bridged the late Romantic and early 20th century periods. Glass, his contemporary, composed six Symphonies and is fully deserving of rediscovery. He naturally and effortlessly was able to think in large canvasses and broad strokes, and his piano music and chamber works represent some of his finest efforts. His philosophical and mystical temperament (he cultivated interests in both Buddhism and Hinduism) did not preclude an active life in various administrative and teaching positions, but his principal creative energies were devoted to his composing. Despite a substantial output, there is virtually no vocal music. Pianist Peter Seivewright has selected what he considers to be some of Glass 's most memorable and melodic music, showing as many sides of the composer 's personality as possible. Born in England in 1954, Seivewright studied at Oxford and the Royal Northern College of Music. He has performed extensively throughout Europe, particularly in Denmark (eight recital tours).


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased