1 800 222 6872

Fonseca: Corazón [Limited]

Track List

>Hace Tiempo
>Como Me Mira
>Sigo Aqui Cantando
>Te Mando Flores
>Lagartija Azul
>La Casa
>Viene Subiendo
>Vengo a Hablar
>Te Mando Flores - (Acoustic Version)
>Como Me Mira - (Acoustic Version)
>Hace Tiempo - (Acoustic Version)

Album Notes

Personnel: Jacobo Alvarez (vocals); Richard Viloria, Juan Andrés Otalora, Alejandro Gomescasseres (guitars); Luis Pastor, Juan Carlos Padilla (bajo sexto); Tati Manzano, El Mono Coto (accordion); Batanga (trumpet); Gustavo Garcia 'Pantera' (trombone); Alfredo Rosado (drums); Luis Pacheco (congas); Enrique "Kike" Cuao (percussion); Bernardo Ossa (programming); Alejo Aponte, David Castro (background vocals).

Quirky and outwardly sophisticated, yet never alienating or off-putting, Fonseca is a perfect foil for the romantic lyric, always attempting to elevate it from its base inherent silliness. Not that there is much outright balladry on this disc. Most of the tunes here are upbeat exercises in a kind of Latin worldbeat/pop mélange. It's a big expansive, expensive sound, and given the preference of Fonseca (or his producers) for ethnic percussion samples, it's hopelessly artificial most of the time. The exceptions are "Sigo Aquí Cantando," where the backing track of congas and trumpet absolutely smolders, and the closing track, "Vengo a Hablar," where the folk percussion vibe, through its very excess, lifts the track into a light, sensual surrealism. For the Latin pop world, it's probably very out stuff, but also please note that we're only talking about the settings of the songs. That these have more character than the songs or the singer is probably not a good thing. ~ J. Chandler


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review