1 800 222 6872

Brahms: Ein Deutsches Requiem / Kubelik, Mathis, et al

Album Summary

>Brahms, Johannes : German Requiem, Op. 45
Performers Conductor Ensembles Composer

Notes & Reviews:

"Audite's series of Rafael Kubelik's live broadcasts from his tenure in Munich goes from strength to strength. Latest is this superb 1978 Brahms Requiem, bathed in glorious sound that lets you hear details in the chorus and orchestra often missed in other versions. Part of that, of course, is due to Kubelik's conducting. He always stressed proper balances, taking care to bring out details but never exaggerate them. Kubelik recordings usually also feature sane, middle-of-the road to slightly fast tempos, a wide dynamic range, and string sound that glows with warmth. They're all present here." -Classics Today (10/10)


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

Works Details

>Brahms, Johannes : German Requiem, Op. 45
  • Performers: Wolfgang Brendel (Baritone); Edith Mathis (Soprano)
  • Conductor: Rafael Kubelik
  • Ensemble: Bavarian Radio Chorus
  • Running Time: 74 min. 5 sec.
  • Period Time: Romantic
  • Form: Choral
  • Written: 1854-1868
  • Language: German
  • Studio/Live: Live