1 800 222 6872

Shostakovich: Symphony no 13 / Schwarz, Saks, et al

Album Summary

>Shostakovich, Dmitri : Symphony no 13 in B flat minor, Op. 113 "Babi Yar"
Performer Conductor Ensemble Composer

Notes & Reviews:

"A fitting farewell to the composer's centenary year, this is the symphony to give the lie to those who consider Shostakovich a supine collaborator with the Soviet regime. A five-movement choral work for male voices written in 1962, to poems by Yevgeny Yevtushenko, its protest against anti-Semitism grows into an indictment of the Politburo itself, in stark contrast to its largely Leninist predecessor. The work's brooding, passionate intensity is superbly captured by the RLPO under (the now departed) Gerard Schwarz and resounding soloist Gidon Saks." -The Observer


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

Works Details

>Shostakovich, Dmitri : Symphony no 13 in B flat minor, Op. 113 "Babi Yar"
  • Performer: Gidon Saks (Bass Baritone)
  • Conductor: Gerard Schwarz
  • Ensemble: Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Choir
  • Notes: Philharmonic Hall, Liverpool, Lancashire, England (03/17/2003/03/20/2003)
  • Running Time: 62 min. 9 sec.
  • Period Time: Modern
  • Form: Orchestral
  • Written: 1962