1 800 222 6872

King Curtis: Unchained Melody

Track List

>Close Your Eyes
>Unchained Melody
>Off Shore
>Nearness of You
>When I Fall in Love
>It Ain't Necessarily So
>Our Love Is Here to Stay
>My Love Is Your Love
>Sweet and Lovely
>Lone Prairie, The
>Jay Walk

Album Notes

Recording information: Belock Studios, Bayside, Long Island.

Arranger: Sammy Lowe.

Unchained Melody is actually a reissue of Azure, King Curtis' sole LP from Everest Records, with a couple of bonus tracks added. Originally issued in 1960, it has little of the rough R&B tone that Curtis is best known for, but emotes more of a late-night jazzy feel, helped by almost perfectly realized arrangements by Sammy Lowe and vocal contributions from the Malcolm Dodds Singers. These same sides have also been issued on CD by Acrobat in 2006 and Essential Media in 2007 under the original Azure title. ~ Steve Leggett


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased