1 800 222 6872

Schnittke: Nagasaki, Symphony no 0 / Rupert, Hughes, et al

Notes & Reviews:

BBC Music Magazine
Is a surprisingly traditional but beautifully orchestrated four-movement work... In contrast, the oratorio Nagasaki, composed one year later, was the first of many works that managed to displease Soviet officialdom for its so-called 'Expressionist'... there is no doubting the sincerity of its message and the dramatic mastery with which Shnittke handles his huge forces. These clearly engineered world-premiere performances boast highly committed playing from the Cape Philharmonic Orchestra. In Nagasaki the diction of the Cape Town Opera Voice of the Nation could ideally by clearer in places, but this slight disadvantage does not seriously detract from the strong impact of this release.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased