1 800 222 6872

Corigliano: Violin Concerto, etc / Bell, Alsop, Denk, et al

Album Summary

>Corigliano, John : Concerto for Violin & orchestra ("The Red Violin")
>Corigliano, John : Sonata for violin & piano
Performers Conductor Ensemble Composer

Notes & Reviews:

"The real reason to get this is Bell's perfect rendition of Corigliano's 1963 sonata. You may now discard any competing recordings of this marvelous piece. Corigliano's flight of youthful genius is captured here with irresistible spirit, technical security, and sublime musicianship... If you love violin chamber music, this is a must-have addition to your collection." -American Record Guide.

Bell began taking violin lessons at the age of four after his mother discovered her son had taken rubber bands from around the house and stretched them across the handles of his dresser drawer to pluck out music he had heard her play on the piano. His parents got him a scaled-to-size violin for their then five-year-old son and started giving him lessons. A bright student, Bell took to the instrument but lived an otherwise normal midwest Indiana life playing video games and excelling at sports, namely tennis and bowling, even placing in a national tennis tournament at the age of ten. Bell studied as a boy first under Mimi Zweig, then switched to Josef Gingold after assurances from Bell's parents that they were not interested in pushing their son in the study of the violin but simply wanted him to have the best teacher for their son's abilities. Satisfied that the boy was living a normal life, Gingold took Bell on as his student and to this day, Bell speaks of Gingold fondly as a great teacher and mentor. At the age of fourteen, Bell appeared as a soloist with the Philadelphia Orchestra conducted by Riccardo Muti. He studied the violin at the Indiana University's Jacobs School of Music, while managing to graduate from Bloomington High School North in 1984, a year ahead of schedule.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

Works Details

>Corigliano, John : Concerto for Violin & orchestra ("The Red Violin")
  • Performer: Joshua Bell (Violin)
  • Conductor: Marin Alsop
  • Ensemble: Baltimore Symphony Orchestra
  • Notes: Meyerhoff Symphony Hall, Baltimore, MD (06/15/2006-06/17/2006)
  • Running Time: 37 min. 18 sec.
  • Period Time: Contemporary
  • Written: 2003

>Corigliano, John : Sonata for violin & piano
  • Performers: Joshua Bell (Violin); Jeremy Denk (Piano)
  • Notes: Kupfenberg Center for the Performing Arts, Queens College, Queens, New York, NY, Unites States (06/04/2007-06/05/2007)
  • Running Time: 22 min. 4 sec.
  • Period Time: Contemporary
  • Written: 1963