1 800 222 6872

Bartók: The Wooden Prince / Alsop, Bournemouth Symphony

Album Summary

>Bartók, Béla : Wooden Prince, Op. 13/Sz 60
Conductor Ensemble Composer

Notes & Reviews:

'The Wooden Prince' is a fairy tale ballet with an original story by Bartok’s literary acquaintance Bela Balazs, who had also written the libretto to 'Bluebeard’s Castle'. Though outwardly sunny in its subject matter, 'The Wooden Prince' has a mystical side that may explain Bartok’s attraction to the story. The ballet’s opening pages have often been compared to the opening of Wagner’s 'Das Rheingold', and the majestic heart of the score lies in the glorious music Bartok wrote to accompany the prince’s apotheosis.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

Works Details

>Béla Bartók (Composer) (1881 - 1945) : Wooden Prince, Op. 13/Sz 60
  • Conductor: Marin Alsop
  • Ensemble: Bournemouth Symphony Orchestra
  • Notes: The Concert Hall, Lighthouse, Poole, England (05/09/2007/05/10/2007)
  • Running Time: 4 min. 17 sec.
  • Period Time: Modern
  • Form: Ballet
  • Written: 1914-1917