1 800 222 6872

Handel: Aci, Galatea e Polifemo / Vitale, True, Mancini, Sandler, et al

Album Summary

>Handel, George Frideric : Sorgi il dì, HWV 72 "Aci, Galatea, e Polifemo"
Performers Conductor Ensemble Composer

Notes & Reviews:

Looking ahead to Handel year 2009 this CD offers a rare opportunity to listen to Handel's "Aci, Galatea e Polifemo". This seldomly heard 'serenata' (musical entertainment) was written by the famous composer when still very young - 23 - and still living in Italy. True to the original setting of such a piece - often outdoors and without acting - the cast consists of just three characters. This is an intimate and brand new recording led by Marco Vitale. He plays the harpsichord together with his Contrasto Armonico specializing in early music.

Gramophone Magazine
The performance is noteworthy for Marco Vitale's natural tempi and obvious affection for the subtleties in Handel's notation... The fast music is quick enough, but never at the expense of articulacy. Recitatives could flow a little more freely, but I particularly enjoyed their clarity and simplicity, which allows the listener time to become fully immersed in the poetry.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased



Works Details

>Handel, George Frideric : Sorgi il dì, HWV 72 "Aci, Galatea, e Polifemo"
  • Performers: Luciana Mancini (Mezzo Soprano); Mitchell Sandler (Bass); Stefanie True (Soprano)
  • Conductor: Marco Vitale
  • Ensemble: Contrasto Armonico Baroque Orchestra
  • Running Time: 77 min. 34 sec.
  • Period Time: Baroque
  • Written: 1708