1 800 222 6872

Don Braden: Gentle Storm

Track List

>Secret Love
>Gentle Storm
>Never Can Say Goodbye
>What Are You Doing the Rest of Your Life?
>This Masquerade
>Hunter, The
>Willow Weep For Me
>Two of a Kind
>My Foolish Heart

Album Reviews:

Down Beat (p.78) - 3.5 stars out of 5 -- "Essential to his appeal on GENTLE STORM is a knack for retooling familiar tunes in unexpected ways, as he does with a bracing version of Leon Russell's 'This Masquerade'..."

JazzTimes (p.60) - "This is an album on which Braden makes the neo-traditionalist case that the music he has studied and loved remains viable, and that a younger musician can still find new things to say with it."

Album Notes

Personnel: Don Braden (alto flute, tenor saxophone); George Colligan (piano); Joris Teepe (bass instrument); Cecil Brooks III (drums).

Tenor saxophonist Don Braden has impeccable credentials, having replaced Branford Marsalis in brother Wynton's band. Braden continues the neo-trad path of his former employer with GENTLE STORM, a quartet session featuring the fine simpatico pianist George Colligan. No surprises here, except perhaps Braden's romantic flute on "My Foolish Heart"--just solidly swinging, earnest hard bop, played with dynamism and conviction.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review