1 800 222 6872

Geof Bradfield: Urban Nomad

Track List

>Urban Nomad
>Janus Groove
>Ever Ever Land
>I Carry Your Heart With Me
>You're My Everything
>Chin Check
>Kids Are Pretty People
>Con Alma

Album Notes

Personnel: Geof Bradfield (soprano saxophone, tenor saxophone); Ron Perrillo (piano); Clark Sommers (bass instrument); George Fludas (drums).

Geof Bradfield's second date as a leader shows a great degree of maturity for a relatively young player. Doubling on tenor and soprano saxes, he penned six originals for the session, which includes pianist Ron Perrillo, bassist Clarke Sommers, and drummer George Fludas. "Urban Nomad" is an enticing, melancholy post-bop vehicle that embodies a sense of wandering, featuring the leader's engaging soprano. He switches to tenor for his robust, funky swinger "Janus Groove," while showcasing his magical touch with ballads in the lyrical original "I Carry Your Heart with Me." The quartet also delves into familiar songs, including a peppy take of the standard "You're My Everything," with Bradfield's playful soprano driven by the Latin undercurrent of the rhythm section, along with a breezy setting of Dizzy Gillespie's "Con Alma" that opens with Perrillo's dramatic solo. Thad Jones' "Kids Are Pretty People" is an overlooked gem that relatively few others have explored; Bradfield's full-bodied tenor is prominent in this loping arrangement. ~ Ken Dryden


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review