1 800 222 6872

Neikrug: Through Roses / Zukerman, Rubinstein, et al

Album Summary

>Neikrug, Marc [Piano] : Through Roses, for speaker and 8 solo instruments
Performers Conductor Ensemble
  • >

Notes & Reviews:

'Through Roses' is a theatrical concert work, which draws on the musical memories of a Holocaust survivor who is struggling to deal with his memories of the war. Scored for eight musicians and narrator, the work expertly balances the lovely works that the violinist/narrator forcibly played as a prisoner, and the angular, atonal music which represents his nightmarish memories. A critic in Germany described the score as ''a collage of 200 years of music culture.'' 'Through Roses' had its premiere in London in 1980, and has been performed nearly a thousand times since and has been translated into 11 languages. The all-star performers on this recording include violinist Pinchas Zukerman as well as actor and composer John Rubinstein.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

Works Details

>Neikrug, Marc [Piano] : Through Roses, for speaker and 8 solo instruments
  • Performers: Jeremy Denk (Piano); Amanda Forsyth (Cello); Todd Levy (Clarinet); Jethro Marks (Violin); Tara O'Connor (Flute); David Tolen (Percussion); Liang Wang (Oboe); Pinchas Zukerman (Violin)
  • Conductor: Marc Neikrug
  • Notes: Composition written: 1980.
  • Running Time: 41 min. 55 sec.
  • Period Time: Contemporary
  • Written: 1980