1 800 222 6872

Brilliant Opera Collection - Wagner: Tristan und Isolde / Furtwängler, Flagstad, et al

Album Summary

>Wagner, Richard : Tristan und Isolde
Performers Conductor Ensembles Composer

Notes & Reviews:

This first recording made by EMI in 1952 for the new LP format and produced by the legendary Walter Legge was the first major recording to feature the young baritone, Dietrich Fischer-Dieskau. A young Elisabeth Schwarzkopf dubbed the few High C's that were garbeled in Flagstad's recording sessions. Schwarzkopf subsequently became Mrs. Walter Legge. Conducting, Furtwangler excelled himself. Although there have been fine recordings since, this recording has been the benchmark for them all, and arguably has not been surpassed.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

Works Details

>Wagner, Richard : Tristan und Isolde
  • Performers: Blanche Thebom (Mezzo Soprano); Rudolf Schock (Tenor); Ludwig Suthaus (Tenor); Rhydderch Davies (Baritone); Edgar Evans (Tenor); Dietrich Fischer-Dieskau (Baritone); Kirsten Flagstad (Soprano); Josef Greindl (Bass); Rudolf Schock (Tenor)
  • Conductor: Wilhelm Furtwängler
  • Ensemble: Philharmonia Orchestra
  • Running Time: 255 min. 48 sec.
  • Period Time: Romantic
  • Form: Opera/Operetta
  • Written: 1857-1859
  • Language: German
  • Studio/Live: Studio