1 800 222 6872

O'Connor: String Quartets no 2 & 3 / O'Connor, Kavafian, Neubauer, Haimovitz

Album Summary

>O'Connor, Mark [Violin] : Quartet for Strings no 2 'Bluegrass'
>O'Connor, Mark [Violin] : Quartet for Strings no 3 'Old-Time'
Performers Composer

Notes & Reviews:

"O'Connor, pied piper of a new brand of Americana, is a maverick. His goal is to make us fall in love with American music - the old timey stuff as well as a new breed that he's inventing as he goes along. It's the language and spirit of this country's native harmony, delivered in classical garb." -The Oregonian. In Mark O'Connor's own words: "As I continue to develop other artistic interpretations of vernacular and idiomatic music of my own past, I uncover new pathways in discovering how much this music from my childhood means to me in the present tense. With my String Quartet No. 2, I bring to bare one of my favorite music styles I learned as an 11 and 12 year old, bluegrass."

O'Connor's String Quartet No. 2 "Bluegrass" features intricate rhythms, soulful harmonies, and achingly beautiful melodies. The String Quartet No. 3 "Old-Time" was composed on commission for the Quadricentennial of the Hudson River.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

Works Details

>O'Connor, Mark [Violin] : Quartet for Strings no 2 'Bluegrass'
  • Performers: Mark O'Connor (Violin); Matt Haimovitz (Cello); Ida Kavafian (Violin); Paul Neubauer (Viola)
  • Running Time: 36 min. 6 sec.
  • Period Time: Contemporary
  • Written: 2005

>O'Connor, Mark [Violin] : Quartet for Strings no 3 'Old-Time'
  • Performers: Matt Haimovitz (Cello); Ida Kavafian (Violin); Mark O'Connor (Violin); Paul Neubauer (Viola)
  • Running Time: 23 min. 3 sec.
  • Period Time: Contemporary
  • Written: 2008