1 800 222 6872

Haydn: Missa Cellensis / van Immerseel, Teuscher, Kielland, van der Kamp, et al

Album Summary

>Haydn, Franz Joseph : Missa Cellensis in honorem, H 22 no 5 "Cäcilienmesse"
Performers Conductor Ensemble Composer

Notes & Reviews:

"Haydn's 'Missa Cellensis' (the title refers to the town of Mariazell in the region of Styria, for which the mass was composed) is among the most distinctive of his early compositions, and one that succeeds entirely on its own terms rather than pointing toward later developments in his style. Furthermore, if it had direct models, they haven't yet surfaced. Perhaps it seems especially fresh in this magnficent performance by the historical-performance orchestra and chorus Anima Eterna and Belgian conductor Jos van Immerseel... The live sound from the Carus label is superb, and for many listeners this recording will set a new standard for a work that has been particularly reluctant to reveal its secrets in performances using modern instruments." -All Music Guide


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

Works Details

>Haydn, Franz Joseph : Missa Cellensis in honorem, H 22 no 5 "Cäcilienmesse"
  • Performers: Marianne Kielland (Mezzo Soprano); Markus Schäfer (Tenor); Lydia Teuscher (Soprano); Harry Van der Kamp (Bass)
  • Conductor: Jos Immerseel
  • Ensemble: Anima Eterna Orchestra
  • Period Time: Classical
  • Form: Choral
  • Written: 1766