Various Artists: The Sound of Wonder!

Track List

Album Notes

Considering recent history, one doesn't much associate Pakistan with any sort of pop culture, especially not the sort of mix-and-match experimental film music so characteristic of India's Bollywood film industry. Well, there actually is (or was) a Lollywood, based out of Lahore, sporting its own resident composer genius. Bollywood had R.D. Burman and others, plus the incomprable singer Asha Bhole to grace countless soundtracks. This compilation of Lollywood film music during its '70s heyday features mostly mastermind M. Ashraf and his partner, Nahid Akhtar, the so-called Serge Gainsbourg and Jane Birkin of their time and place. Lovers of cheesy psychedelic Southeast Asian esoterica will have no trouble warming to these highly cinematic tracks liberally spiked with fuzz guitar, wha-whas, synths, tabla percussion, and other indigenous elements.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review